Skip to content

Creative Casualties @ NAB 2010

April 19, 2010

In case you’ve been out of the loop for the past week, we split up for the week and decided to multitask a bit. Chad stayed here in San Diego and covered [and pretty much ran] Sezio & Holiday Matinee’s party at Bar Basic. I, on the other hand, packed my bags and headed East. I spent my week in Las Vegas checking out some of the newest technologies and equipment coming out this year. It was a two day adventure that left me wanting more. Canon, Adobe, Sony, the biggest names in the game brought out their big guns.

One of the major things that pretty much all of the companies were highlighting was 3D technologies. Nearly every booth had a camera, a TV, or converter for 3D. After being able to check them out in person and talk to the reps for a bit, I still don’t think 3D is what it can be. A lot of the technologies still produce fuzzy images which can be an annoyance. With the popularity of 3D growing in theaters, I can see it getting big. But I think that they’ll have to make some minor improvements to get me to pay $17 for a 3D ticket.

Check out vimeo’s coverage of the event below. It’s pretty lengthy, but gives you a good idea of what happened. Skip through it, it’ll be easier for those ADD moments.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

